That’s ok

Standard

So the past 36 hours or so haven’t been the greatest. I’ve eaten too much, most of which has been junk. But, that’s ok. I’m not going to beat myself up about it. Today is a new day, and I’m being more careful with what I put in my body.

The last few days have been a bit on the emotional side. On Thursday night, we had a picnic in the park and a good friend joined me. It was a lovely evening, and I enjoyed myself thoroughly. Sure, I didn’t exactly eat the healthiest stuff, and I didn’t track my food that night, but spending time with my children and one of my dearest friends was just so darn good for the soul. I needed that. I also needed to give myself permission to not be perfect.

Yesterday, I messed up. I ate poorly, made terrible choices, and succumbed to a bit of emotional eating. But, it was just one day. I have forgiven myself, and put it in the past.  I also know that right now is that time when I am more likely to engage in mindless eating to appease that carb craving that visits every so often. I am trying to figure out how best to deal with this regular occurrence… allow myself to self-medicate with chocolate, knowing I can’t stop at one? Try desperately to avoid the craving, only to fall horribly later? Not quite sure what to do.

One response »

  1. I think the fact that you’ve identified the issue is great – but I think how you deal with it has to depend on you. I, personally, just can’t keep stuff in the house or at my desk because I know I’ll tear through it in no time. But it does mean that when I’m really, desperately craving something enough to go out make a trip into town and get it, then fine – I’ll allow it myself. As long as it’s a treat, it’s fine. And I’ve also had to learn to be less economically savvy with my treats – yes, the big bar of dark chocolate is only 50p more than the tiny one…

    But I can’t own the big one. I’d rather let my purse take the hit than my butt!

Leave a Reply

