Not bad, not bad at all.

Standard

Well, I feel a bit back on track. I think giving myself permission to take two steps forward and one step back is key: I will not always be perfect. I will make mistakes. I will have set backs. But I’m still moving in the right direction.

Today, I used those two new apps I talked about yesterday.  I went for a 30 minute walk using the new walk tracker app. Every few minutes, a lovely voice came over the music to tell me how far I’d walked, how fast I was going, and how many calories I had burned. However, as I walked, I felt discouraged: the app told me I had only burned 40 calories after all that hard work! Turns out, I had forgotten to enter my weight and height. I’ll have to try it out again tomorrow.

The “My Fitness Pal” app is proving to be one of the easier food diary apps I’ve encountered. I love that you can scan a bar code and it enters the food for you! Any thing I’ve entered manually (without bar codes) has been in the database already. Ease of use is really important for me. So far, this one seems easy to use.

My walk this morning felt tortuous! I’ve stopped doing 5am yoga, and boy did I ever feel it walking up the big hill by my house. I know I need cardio, but without yoga, my body is just too stiff and sore to attempt cardio.

I think my problem is I tend to be a perfectionist. I want to do it all, and I want to do my best. When I went back to university a few years ago, I worked so hard to get good grades, and ended up with straight As every semester. I was really driven by the grades – insanely so!

I wish I could find that same motivation in this endeavour.  That drive I had when I was doing my degree. Sure, it was nice to have a professor give me great grades and lovely comments – it was wonderful extrinsic motivation. Maybe that’s my problem: the lack of extrinsic motivation. This is definitely a much more intrinsic thing. Although, I know that once I do start losing more weight and shaping up, I will be receiving compliments.

Hmmm…. definitely something to think about: the difference between extrinsic and intrinsic motivation.  I need to find that inner desire to drive me. That’s what truly successful people have – inner drive.

Successful people also have lots of love and support from their friends and family. That, I have in abundance! Thank you to all who are cheering me along! You really do keep me from quitting 🙂

Leave a Reply

