Ahhhh….. that’s more like it.

Standard

I’m beginning to realize that this road to being fit by forty is just as much a mental/spiritual journey as it is a physical one.

20120530-202200.jpg

Just before the morning bell rang, I was walking down the hall to my classroom with a colleague. We were engaged in some small talk, and she said to me, “You’re really perky today.” And I realized she was right!

Let me backtrack a bit…

Yesterday I was lamenting that my yoga practice lately hasn’t been that focused. This morning when I was doing yoga, I really tried to focus on my breathing and my body. I tried to let go of all the clutter in my mind, and just focus on the physicality of it all. After my yoga workout, I typically sit quietly for a few minutes focusing on some positive affirmations. Today, my affirmations were based on don Miguel Ruiz’s Four Agreements: “Today, I will be impeccable with my words, and treat myself with love.” Later that morning, I was reflecting on my recent blog posts of the last few days, I realized that they’ve been a bit negative, or at least focused on my recent struggles. I had been feeling down, and when I get that way, I tend to be less than impeccable with my words, especially my self-talk.

Do you ever have one of those days when the Universe is screaming a message at you? Well, today was one of those days.

Once I had decided to be “impeccable with my words,” I had some pretty amazing words pop up in my day. The first was a quote by Ruiz:

Today, Creator, I promise to make a new agreement with my physical body. I promise to love my body unconditionally as my body loves me. I promise to protect and take care of my body

The other one was a quote from Aristotle that an acquaintance posted on Facebook:

“We are what we repeatedly do. Excellence then, is not an act, but a habit.” – Aristotle

This is when I figured out that, in order to reach my goal of being fit by forty, I need to make a new agreement with my body, and make that a habit.

I have a feeling that this won’t be as easily said as done. It’s going to take daily reminders to stick to it. I am so used to not loving my body, and I definitely don’t have much of a history of protecting it and taking care of it. But really, that’s what I want. I want to love my body and be healthy. Taking care of my body should be my number one priority! If I first take care of my body, then taking care of others will be much easier. Someone once told me that you can’t give love that you don’t have. I can see now how critical it is for me to love my body by taking care of it. And, in making this a habit, I will have an amazing and excellent life!

I have the knowledge. I know what I need to do to take care and protect my body. Really, it’s not rocket science. Eat less, move more. Fill my body with healthy, nutritious food. Fill my mind and heart with positive thoughts and affirmations. Find an exercise that I enjoy and do it. Take it one day at a time. Take small steps. Rinse and repeat.

But, as is always the case with me, having the cognition and actually internalizing it are two completely different things. I know what needs to be done, but I haven’t internalized it, and I don’t do it. Then, I get mad at myself for not doing it.

This is where the mental and spiritual part of the journey comes into play. I know the physical things that need to be done, but I don’t do them. They’re really not that difficult to do. Eat healthy. Exercise. But, because I’m not internalizing them, I’m not doing them. I can do this. Habits take time. How do I know? Because I get up every morning at 5:00 to do yoga. At first, it was really difficult. Now my day isn’t complete without it.

This afternoon, I went to my favourite park and did a 45 minute walk. It was invigorating! Flowers were in bloom, the air was a mix of fresh growth, ocean air and earth. There was a cool breeze blowing, and I was listening to great tunes. I came home and had a wonderful vegetarian meal. Right now, I feel great. It only makes sense to “rinse and repeat”… who wouldn’t want to feel this terrific again!

Speaking of great tunes, this song is sort of my new “theme song” for this whole journey:

;

Thanks for reading! 🙂

;

Leave a Reply

