So what does this all look like?

Standard

Ok, before I start my actual post, I need to say something:

YAY ME!!

Today, I was feeling particularly tired and grumpy. I could have easily hit the Starbucks drive-through for a latte and a cookie on the way home.

But, I didn’t.

Nope. Instead, I drove right past that drive-through, past the McDonald’s, and past not one but two Timmies. Drove straight home, changed my clothes, laced up the ol’ runners, and went for a power walk. I even managed a personal best time on my neighbourhood loop route! I knocked just over a minute off my best time. (I use the “Map My Run” app to keep track of these things. Being a competitive person, it’s a good thing).

Now back to your regularly scheduled post…

I realise that being “fit before 40” is all well and good. It’s a very noble goal. But, without specifics, it’s really not much of a goal. Kinda more of a dream. A good goal is SMART: Specific Measurable Attainable Realistic Timely. I’ve got the measurable part down – sort of… that’s an easy one: I can simply go by the numbers on the scale, the size of my clothes, and tracking my times on my workouts. But, what about the rest?

Time to start real serious visioning. What do I want my life to look like in just under 13 months? What does it mean to me to be fit by forty?

  • I want to be physically smaller. I’ve talked with my counsellor about what a realistic goal weight would be, and have a number in mind. Actually, it’s more of a range, and includes dress size.
  • I want to be able to buy a pair of jeans from some over-priced retail store in the mall. Not that I would pay an arm and a leg for jeans (because, really, who wants a one-legged pair of jeans?) but I want that option when I go shopping.
  • I want a wicked LBD…. a sexy little black dress that shows off my curves and makes me feel like a million bucks. I want to have the right type of curves to fit one of those dresses.

Stop. I’m just rambling. None of these goals is entirely SMART. I need to be really, really specific with these.

Let’s try this again:

By my 40th birthday, I want to be somewhere around a size 12 to 14. That means I’m able to buy normal sized clothes. I am going to accomplish this by eating healthy foods, cutting back on prepackaged and processed foods, and finding coping strategies for dealing with my emotional eating. In order to lose the weight, I recognize that food alone is not th answer. I need to add exercise to the mix as well. I will continue with my morning yoga routine (gradually increasing the difficulty level) and schedule three cardio workouts per week.

By my 40th birthday, I want to be really active. I would like to be able to jog/run for short distances. I would like to be one of those people who really enjoys exercise and makes it a daily part of my life. As I said above, I will achieve this by continuing my daily yoga practice, and schedule (as in actually write it in my calendar and stick to it!) three cardio workouts per week. I will start with 30 minutes of cardio, as that is what feels comfortable now, and gradually increase it, By my 40th birthday, I will be able to maintain a longer cardio workout (45-50 minutes?) I will try one new activity each month, adding to my repertoire of physical activities that I enjoy.

By my 40th birthday, I will be able to look back at the previous year and feel proud of myself for always trying my best and treating myself with love and respect. I will feel healthier, younger, stronger. I am doing this to improve my overall physical health, set a good example for my children, and have more energy. I also want my physical appearance to be sexy, curvaceous, and healthy!

Of course, the benefits of reaching these goals are pretty much reward enough. However, I do have one or two rewards that I’d like to treat myself to, including some new clothes (like one ridiculously extravagant article of clothing that I would never dream of purchasing), and perhaps a new tattoo (Got one for my 30th birthday after a major life change, would like a new one to commemorate these goals). And, I’d like to get some really good photos taken of me.

Now, that all sounds fantastic, but it’s not going to happen over night, nor is it going to be easy. It is going to require dedication, and lots of small baby steps along the way. I will require me to treat myself with love and remember to do my best each and every day.

But, I know I can do it! If I can complete two university degrees while raising three boys on my own and teaching piano all at the same time, I can do this!

20120524-173925.jpg

2 responses »

  1. The thing that helped me with emotional eating was finding a treat, in my case dark chocolate, and rather than eat the whole bar absent mindedly, I eat one piece with focus. Savoring all the deliciousness. Knowing that I had to put everything into that one piece because that was all I was allowed to eat. It worked. Good luck Cricket!

  2. Karen, I will support you in any way I can – power walks, jogs, work-out routines, etc. I had a short career of personal trainer and used to teach aerobics, and tried every sport I could, just because my mom didn’t think it appropriate for girls to do sports (I know, rebel!) I am in awe of what you have accomplished while raising your boys alone. They are great kids. And that’s on you! I love your blog – nice and personal – and pat yourself on the back for not dieting or leaning toward weight-loss products, which can be harmful in the end. 🙂

Leave a Reply

