Yay me!

Standard

It’s week three of my blog. And, in those three weeks I have begun to notice a few changes. But, before I tell you what those changes are, I thought I’d review what changes I’ve made:

  • 5am yoga: I get up 4-5 morning per week and do an easy yoga DVD.
  • Cutting back on my meat consumption: I wouldn’t necessarily say that I’ve gone vegetarian, but I am only eating meat a few times per week.
  • Eating more fruit and vegetables: I’m trying to shop mainly around the outsides of the grocery story, cutting back on my prepackaged and processed foods.
  • Increasing the amount of exercise that I do: in addition to early morning yoga, I try to go for a walk or some other form of exercise two or three times per week.
  • Cutting back on my coffee consumption: before starting this blog, I drank a venti-sized coffee with fat-free flavoured creamer (mostly just vanilla-flavoured chemicals!) every morning. I haven’t completely given up coffe, but I have switched it up. I’m drinking green tea a few mornings per week.
  • Meditating: when I’m feeling stressed or anxious, I’m trying to remember to take time and centre myself and meditate.
  • Daily affirmations: I’ve programmed my phone to send me reminders throughout the day. My favourite is “You deserve to be healthy” which pops up every day at 3:30 pm. Every morning as I finish my yoga, I take time to remind myself that I deserve to treat my body with love and respect.
  • Simply trying to do my best: In Don Miguel Ruiz’s book “The Four Agreements” one of the agreements is “Always do your best. I also remind myself to be impeccable in my words. (I will write more about how I apply Ruiz’s work to my life later).

So there you have it. Those are the changes I’ve made lately. And lemme tell you: I have been noticing the difference. The first big thing is that I’ve lost about 6 pounds. Yay me!!  I have more energy, and just feel healthier in general. In the last week or so, my back hasn’t been hurting as much (I haven’t needed as much painkillers as I did when I started this blog).

But, I think the biggest improvement overall has been my mood. I am a lot happier, and a lot more pleasant. I feel mentally and emotionally stronger. This is pretty major. As I reflect on my life in the last 10 months, I can see a monumental shift in my emotional health. I finally feel like I have my emotional and mental health issues under control. Having that area in my life under control is allowing me to have control of other areas.

I can’t wait to see what the coming months will bring!

Leave a Reply

