May 10, 2012: Meditation

Gallery

Almost every morning for the past few weeks, I’ve been getting up at 5am to do a short yoga workout before starting my day. At first, it was a real chore to get out of bed and try to bend myself into a pretzel. The getting out of bed part is definitely getting easier. Bending myself into a pretzel? Not quite. (However, I can touch my toes now, which I’m super excited about! I am pretty certain that my friends all think me nuts, because I’ll stand there and touch my toes for anyone who will watch!)

There’s one small problem with this morning yoga routine: I am easily bored. While I enjoy the one yoga DVD I have, I was getting a bit bored of it. So, yesterday, I picked up a new one, some ‘Yoga for Weight Loss’ thing that has 4 different workouts. I tried the first one – an 18 minute workout. Having had success with my original workout DVD, I thought to myself, “How had can this be? It will be a piece of cake!” (Mmmm…. cake.)

Boy, was I wrong!

Let’s just say that there’s a lot of room for improvement. I did, however, do my best, and I’m proud of myself for hanging in there as long as I could. Gives me a goal to work towards tomorrow morning. (Although, there is another workout on this disc that focuses on abs, which I’m going to try tomorrow).

The one thing I like about this disc is that there is also a short meditation on it. Seeing as how the workout I did was shorter than the one on my first disc, I thought I’d give the meditation a try. I am so glad I did! It was short – only 10 minutes or so, but it made a HUGE difference.

I felt a lot more positive today. My attitude, outlook, everything…. it was just a great day. Of course, the beautiful sunshine helped too. I just felt that much more alive than I did yesterday. I will definitely be doing this again!

Other than that…. I ate fairly well today 🙂 I made a delicious salad with mixed greens, feta, tomatoes, cucumbers, bell peppers, mushrooms and a few black olives, tossed with a 5-herb fat free vinagrette. It was divine!

Didn’t need that butter tart, though. Oops. Oh well – I will forgive myself and move forward. Today was better than yesterday, and tomorrow is a brand new day!!

Cheers!!

Leave a Reply

