Emotional Eating

Standard

One thing I’ve learned about myself recently is that I’m a very emotional person.

Nope.

Strike that.

I’ve know for a long time that I’m an emotional person.  It’s only been recently that I’ve accepted this about myself, and embraced it. I love that I can feel a wealth of emotions, and feel them with depth. But, sometimes, it can get a tad overwhelming.

This week, I’ve been dealing with some personal issues that have left me feeling a bit emotional. Yes, there have been tears, and sleepless nights… but it’s nothing I can’t handle. I’ve been through worse and survived – I know I have the strength and spiritual fortitude to get through this. Nonetheless, it is a rather emotional issue. And, I fully embrace the emotions that spring forth from it.

However, I’m also eating my way through this issue.

Ugh.

I didn’t need those cookies, or those rejected burnt cupcakes, or that milkshake. Last night’s dinner was entirely carbs (although, I suppose that does count as vegetarian, no?). I am really upset by this right now. I know it’s the wrong thing to do – turning to food to deal with my emotions.

I wonder, though – am I really dealing with my emotions through food, or am I just so drained from being so emotional that I’m too exhausted to eat healthy? Hmm…. I think it’s a bit of both. The rejected burnt cupcakes fall into the first category. The carb-filled dinner? I was just too exhausted to make anything healthier.

Today, when I got home, I sank into the comfortable chair in my living room and cried. Then I thought, “I should got for a brisk walk. It’s a lovely day, and I’ll feel better after some exercise.” Unfortunately, that ‘walk’ turned into a chicken burger, fries and a milkshake.  But, at least I thought about exercising. I suppose it’s a start.

So, where do I go from here? I know what the problem is: when I’m emotionally run down, it’s hard to eat healthy. What can I do to fix this?  Here are the ideas I’ve got so far:

  • Keep the house stocked with healthy foods. Especially quick and healthy dinners.
  • Establish a regular exercise routine for after work.
  • Find an effective means of meditating when I’m feeling emotional.
  • A big sign on the fridge reminding me to ask “Why are you eating that?”
  • Call a friend.
  • Find an exercise partner to keep me accountable.
It’s a start. I already have a lot of healthy food around. And, to my credit, I had at least 7 servings of fruits and vegetables by 3pm today. Yay me!  I’ve also proven to myself that I’m capable of establishing a regular exercise routine – my morning yoga workout is quickly becoming something I like! The meditating? Hmm… a bit trickier. However, I know I’ve got a few friends who could help me in this area. The sign? Going to get my very artistic son to make one for me. And, I’m getting better at asking friends for support. Now, if I could just find me an exercise partner.
Any takers?
Leave a Reply

